return to Table of Contents, Managing Mailing Lists, Tracking Campaign Performance

Processing bounce notices that are emailed to you

If you send your message using e3 Delivery Service, then bounce messages are handled for you automatically and shown in the Reports tab. If you send your message using your own email server, then bounces will come back to your inbox.

Direct Mail can scan your mailbox for bounce notices and mark the corresponding addresses in Direct Mail as "bounced". Here's how:

  1. Choose Addresses > Scan Incoming Mail from the menu bar.
  2. Enter your incoming mail server details.
  3. Click the Bounces tab.
  4. Check "Look for bounced addresses".
  5. Click Scan.

Direct Mail will connect to your mailbox and process any matching email messages.

If you think that Direct Mail is missing messages, please keep in mind that Direct Mail can only see messages that are still on the server. For POP3 mailboxes, this means that you must set your email client to not remove downloaded messages from the server.

By default, Direct Mail will remember the last message it processed and only download and process new messages. If you want force Direct Mail to start from the beginning of your mailbox, hold down the Option/Alt key while clicking Scan.

If you are using Gmail or Google Apps

If you are connecting via IMAP or POP3 to a Gmail or Google Apps server, please consult this guide for the correct settings to enter into Direct Mail. If your Google account does not have two-step verification turned on, then you will need to turn on the "Access for less secure apps" option inside of your Google account (as per the instructions). This option has a scary-sounding name, but what it really means is that you are okay with typing your Google account password into the Direct Mail settings window (instead of using a technology named OAuth to authenticate). All connections to Google use encryption, so you can rest assured that your password is safe from anyone trying to eavesdrop on your connection. Direct Mail saves your password securely to the macOS Keychain.

Did you find this article helpful? Yes | No