return to Table of Contents, Cloud Collaboration

If your project has to be re-downloaded from the cloud

Under normal circumstances, Direct Mail will download your project from the cloud to your Mac only once (the first time you open it). Once the project has been downloaded, Direct Mail no longer needs to sync the entire project, just the changes that you or others make to it. This allows for both fast syncing and offline access.

Unfortunately, it is possible for third-party software utilities to interfere with Direct Mail's sync operation. If Direct Mail detects that the local copy of your project has fallen out of sync with the cloud, it will automatically re-download the project from the cloud. In order to avoid this inconvenience, please exercise caution when using apps that purport to "clean" or "slim" down your Mac by deleting or moving important files. Specifically, the following two locations on your Mac should be excluded from any kind of third-party software "cleaning":

  • ~/Library/Application Support/Direct Mail
  • ~/Library/Containers/com.ernieware.directmail/Data/Library/Application Support/Direct Mail

Be aware that some of these utilities may continue to run on your Mac in the background, even after you have quit the app.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact our support team.

Did you find this article helpful? Yes | No