return to Table of Contents, Creating and Editing Messages

Previewing what sent messages will look like

You can preview what your email will look like once it's merged and sent to each recipient. Here's how:

  1. Go to the Messages tab.
  2. Select the message you want to preview.
  3. Choose Message > Preview Message from the menu bar.

You can use the Prev/Next buttons to click through each recipient, or you can switch to the Addresses tab and directly select the recipient you want to preview. The Preview window will update each time you change the selected recipient, or when you edit the selected message.

When you preview a message, Direct Mail will merge any mail-merge tags in your message with the appropriate values from the selected recipient. It also performs CSS inlining on your message. Note that unsubscribe, update email address, and sharing links will not work in Preview (placeholder URLs are displayed instead).

Did you find this article helpful? Yes | No